2021 Award Winners

The quality, compassionate, and accessible care that Alaskans receive throughout our Health Center System is built on the careers of dedicated health professionals and leaders, including Board members. This award recognizes the long and inspiring careers of employees and Board members who have made lasting impacts on the Alaska Community Health Center system, locally or statewide. This award recognizes and memorializes the contributions of these remarkable individuals. This award is conferred based on merit alone; the number of awards given is not prescribed or limited.

Qualifications: 10 or more years of CHC experience in any capacity/combination (board member, nonclinical/clinical staff, etc.); have made a lasting impact on the Alaska CHC system (locally or statewide), in one or more Health Center(s); and must have demonstrated a mission‐driven focus, a dedication to solution‐based problem solving, be a devoted lifelong learner, and have exhibited a well‐defined cooperative team spirit.

Jill Veatch
Clinic Operations Manager
Girdwood Health Clinic

Dr. Marguerite Mcintosh
Peninsula Community Health Services of Alaska

Tom Taylor was someone we all knew was going to make his mark on this world. When he passed away in 2018, APCA dedicated this award to remember him.

The Tom Taylor award recognizes emerging and future leaders in community health. It acknowledges the contributions and encourages the continued engagement of future leaders in ongoing conversations and actions to support the goal of accessible and affordable health care for all Alaskans. The key qualities of leadership highlighted by this award are commitment, motivation, achievement, aspiration, teamwork, cultural competence, and social intelligence used together to further the safety net mission.

Maggie Nevin
Operations Manager
Kodiak Community Health Center

The Rainbow Award acknowledges contributions in the area of Population Health, including Social Drivers of Health, Substance Use Disorders, Behavioral Health Integration, and more.

Samantha Robler
Population Health Provider
Norton Sound Health Corporation

The Steelhead Award commemorates someone who has made exceptional contributions toward Emerging Health Issues.

Dr. William Franz
Chief Dental Officer
Sunshine Community Health Center

The Sockeye award is given to someone who has distinguished themselves with contributions to the field of Health Workforce Development.

Brain Hicks
Medical Assistant
Girdwood Health Clinic

Heather Anderson
Medical Assistant
Girdwood Health Clinic

The Chinook Award is awarded to an individual who has demonstrated exemplary contribution to the support of accessible and affordable health care for all Alaskans. 

Anthony Nevin
Registered Dietitian
Kodiak Community Health Center

The Coho Award acknowledges outstanding work in health policy and advocacy.

Mark Regan
Legal Director
ALaska Disability Law Center

Quality Awards

Every year, APCA recognizes the hard work of Alaska Community Health Centers that have made several accomplishments the previous year. These health centers have:

Current Patient Centered Medical Home recognition

Under the heading of “Quality of Care” – Have made significant progress toward 80% hypertension in control with their patients, and

In the area of Innovation and Data Used for Making Decisions that Drive Results – these health centers have demonstrated improvement by 10% or greater for 3 UDS clinical measures. In both of these cases, the measures were Heart attack & stroke treatment; Depression Screening; and colorectal cancer screening.

SVT Health and Wellness
Homer, Seldovia, and ANchor Point

Seward Community Health Center

Abby Charles – Communications Manager
Anchorage Neighborhood Health Center

Abby Zito – Everything! 
Yukon-Kuskokwim Health Center

Amy Coughran – Registered Nurse
Dahl Memorial Clinic

Angel Rogers – Receptionist 
JAMHI Health and Wellness Midtown Clinic

Brian Hicks – Medical Assistant 
Girdwood Health Center

Cara Lestenkof Mandregan – Case Management Support and Community Health Aide
South Central Foundation

Catherine “Beth” Stec – Accounts Payable/Payroll
Iliuliuk Family and Health Services Inc.

Cathy Wassillie – Finance Manager
Yakutat Community Health Center

Clare Jackson – Director of Clinical Operations 
Girdwood Health Clinic

Dolly Kiyutelluk – SHH 
Norton Sound Health Corp

Dr. Marguerite McIntosh – Primary Care Provider 
Peninsula Community Health Services of Alaska

Dr. Robert Haight – Medical Director 
JAMHI Health and Wellness Midtown Clinic

Dr. Susie Dillon – Medical Director 
Mat-Su Health Services

Fatimae Agbayani – Patient Services Supervisor 
Kodiak Community Health Center

Janet Lamont – Dental Assistant 
Bethel Family Clinic

Jennifer Hall – Chief Officer of Operations 
Interior Community Health Center

Jilian Chapman – Administrative Services Manager 
Seward Community Health Center

Jim Cabusora – Medical Assistant 
Ilanka Community Health Center

JoEllen Stuart – Medical Receptionist 
Bethel Family Clinic

Julie Crites, D-NP – Nurse Practitioner 
Seward Community Health Center

Katana Dennis – Billing/Coding Team Member
Bristol Bay Area Health Corp

Kate Reynolds – Compliance and So Much More 
Yukon Kuskowim Health Corp

Kelly Thrun – Procedure Tech/Procedure Case Management Position
Norton Sound Health Corp

Lisa Stimpson – Nurse Practitioner 
South Central Foundation

Marina Koonooka – Community Health Aide 
Norton South Health Corp

Mary Swain – Executive Director 
Camai Community Health Center

Mikaila Tiner – Medical Administrative Assistant
Kodiak Area Native Association

Patricia Hines – Health Grants Accountant 
Kodiak Area Native Association

Raquel McIntyre – Quality Improvement Manager 
Kodiak Community Health Center

Scott Somers – Human Resources Professional 
Cross Road Health Ministries

Sherri Cox – Registered Nurse Supervisor 
Seldovia Village Tribe

Sky Pride – Benefits Administrator 
Sunshine Community Health Center

Stephanie Elhard – Front Desk Manager 
Seward Community Health Center

Stephanie McMillin – Licensed Practical Nurse 
Norton Sound Health Corporation

Tammy Robeen – Certified Clinical Medical Assistant 
Sunshine Clinic

Traci Yeckley – Accounting Supervisor 
Interior Community Health Center

Trista Wilson – Purchasing Technician 
Eastern Aleutian Tribes

Val Zimbrich – Front Desk Receptionist
Dahl Memorial Clin